Hi

I am new to this SQL and I using access to build the below statement.
Below is a working SQl statement but I need to output DISTINCT records.

How do I compose this syntax inorder to display DISTINCT record using this {SR.No#] field

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
SELECT Sheet1.Date, Sheet1.[Club Name], Sheet1.[Problem / Symptom Description], Sheet1.[SR No#] FROM Sheet1

GROUP BY Sheet1.Date, Sheet1.[Club Name], Sheet1.[Problem / Symptom Description], Sheet1.[SR No#], Sheet1.[SR No#], Sheet1.Date

HAVING (((Sheet1.Date)>#6/1/2010# And (Sheet1.Date)<#6/30/2010#))
ORDER BY Sheet1.Date;

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

Hello,

Based on what you put in your post I am not sure you have the meaning of DISTINCT correct. If you are trying to get all records with a specific value in the Sheet1.[SR No#] field what you are looking for is really the WHERE clause. I am including the definitions and syntax for both at the bottom. DISTINCT gives you one line of output for each group of similar records (i.e. all records with Sheet1.[SR No#] = to specific value). If I am reading the post wrong then the syntax for what you want would be:

SELECT Sheet1.Date, Sheet1.[Club Name], Sheet1.[Problem / Symptom Description], DISTINCT Sheet1.[SR No#] FROM Sheet1

GROUP BY Sheet1.Date, Sheet1.[Club Name], Sheet1.[Problem / Symptom Description], Sheet1.[SR No#], Sheet1.[SR No#]

ORDER BY Sheet1.Date;

If you want all records for a specific Sheet1.[SR No#]
then you would use:

SELECT Sheet1.Date, Sheet1.[Club Name], Sheet1.[Problem / Symptom Description], Sheet1.[SR No#] FROM Sheet1
WHERE Sheet1.[SR No#]='100'   
GROUP BY Sheet1.Date, Sheet1.[Club Name], Sheet1.[Problem / Symptom Description], Sheet1.[SR No#], Sheet1.[SR No#]

ORDER BY Sheet1.Date;

The line
WHERE Sheet1.[SR No#]='100'