Greetings everyone, I'm a noob here.

I could use some help designing part of a MySQL database I'm working on. This is an event database, so think of say a conference. I have sessions and every session has a session_type. A session_type might be a Keynote speech or a Workshop. Whatever kind of session it is, it can only have one session_type.

What's giving me heartburn is that each session_type has a different set of unique fields consisting of different data types associated with it. If you look at the image I posted, I included (3) tables prefixed with "session_type_" to illustrate this.

So I imagine the brute force way to approach this would be to append ALL of the possible session_type fields to my sessions table, as in a horizontal approach. Then add a session_type field and I'm done. That strikes me as lazy way to go about it, but please correct me if I'm wrong. If this is a valid and accepted approach, maybe I should go this route - it's certainly simple enough.

Alternatively, I could try to break out the session_types into separate tables, as I've started to do in the attached diagram. However, I'm uncertain of how to link to these tables. In my example I have a "session_type_id" field in sessions, but with (3) different session_type tables - how do you know what table that id is from? Do I need yet another field in sessions that's simply "session_type", which then tells my application code which table to query with the "session_type_id"? That strikes me as poor design too, redundant.

I guess I could have one field in the sessions table for each session_type, as in:

session_type_keynote_id
session_type_workshop_id
session_type_panel_id

However, this also seems messy and redundant. If I had to query the sessions table to find all the workshops, I'd have to say something like:

SELECT * FROM sessions WHERE session_type_workshop_id IS NOT NULL