I'm new to triggers, but have been working with MySQL for quite a while. Now I need to implement a trigger.

I want to create a trigger on my 'persons' table so that after an update, if the attribute clubid is changed, attribute clubname should be changed.

I have a rough syntax below, which I think should work, but I'm not sure how to limit it updates where the clubid has changed.

Can anyone tell me how to limit it to running if the value clubid has changed, and also whether the syntax below is otherwise OK?

(I know this will fail as is, because the 'lastvisit' attribute in the person record is updated as soon as the visitor arrives on the site and I get "Can't update table 'persons' in stored function/trigger because it is already used by statement which invoked this stored function/trigger.")

Thanks,

Rob

delimiter $$
CREATE TRIGGER tr_UpdateClubName
AFTER UPDATE ON persons FOR EACH ROW
BEGIN
UPDATE persons 
SET clubname = ( 
  SELECT clubname FROM clubs WHERE persons.clubid = clubs.clubno
);
END$$
delimiter ;

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

Thank you Priteas. I tried that,

BEGIN
  IF NEW.clubid <> OLD.clubid THEN
    UPDATE persons 
      SET clubname = ( 
        SELECT clubname FROM clubs WHERE persons.clubid = clubs.clubno
      );
  END IF;
END

but I am still getting an error, "Can't update table 'persons' in stored function/trigger because it is already used by statement which invoked this stored function/trigger."

When the visitor arrives on the page, a previous bit of code updates the last_visited attribute in the persons table. I assume that is the cause of that error.

Do you have any ideas how to fix this?

Oh right, you can't update the record in an update trigger. It could cause an infinite loop if allowed. Why do you need the club name to change, if the id already points to the clubs table ? You wouldn't need the club name in the persons table.