I'm getting the error Incorrect syntax near '='. when I use the following case statement in a view. Obviously I'm not an expert on MS SQL, but I'm curious as to why I am allowed to use the '=' sign in a preceeding statement but not in the THEN section.

Help me understand what I'm doing wrong (beside everything) :cheesy:

CASE
    WHEN
        MBAL.ALCUCD = '1' AND    -- ADDRESS CODE
        MABL.ALE2ST = '1'            -- ADDRESS TYPE
    THEN
        MBDE.DEB9CD = 'NULL' AND
        'B' AS ADDRESS_TYPE
END
Contributors
Replies
Views
10 Years
Discussion Span
Last Post by Qmoto

I'm getting the error Incorrect syntax near '='. when I use the following case statement in a view. Obviously I'm not an expert on MS SQL, but I'm curious as to why I am allowed to use the '=' sign in a preceeding statement but not in the THEN section.

Help me understand what I'm doing wrong (beside everything) :cheesy:

CASE
    WHEN
        MBAL.ALCUCD = '1' AND    -- ADDRESS CODE
        MABL.ALE2ST = '1'            -- ADDRESS TYPE
    THEN
        MBDE.DEB9CD = 'NULL' AND
        'B' AS ADDRESS_TYPE
END

CASE is used when you want to return different values based on different conditions, such as:

select case when priority=1 then 'Low' when priority=2 then 'Med' when priority=3 then 'High' end from priorities

or the alternative

select case priority when 1 then 'Low' when 2 then 'Med' when 3 then 'High' end from priorities

I'm not sure what you're trying to do. SQL also has an IF syntax, for example:

if exists(select * from whatever)
begin
do something
end
else
begin
do something else
end

Can you give the entire SQL statement so that we can understand exactly what you're trying to do?

This code is used in the creation of a view, so I do not believe the if/then structure will work.

What I'm trying to do is set column MBDE.DEB9CD = 'NULL' and ADDRESS_TYPE = 'B' where MBAL.ALCUCD AND MABL.ALE2ST are equal to one.

Does that help?