Hi guys,

I'm very new to MySQL -- so, your help is very much appreciated.
I have a table that has 50 fields. 2 of the fields are primary (named: item_number and catalog_year). There are about 1200 different unique items on this table.

Now, what I basically need to update is the last field (field 50) which is called pkg_options.
I need to change all the entries inside this particular field(pkg_options) to a new entries.
I have created a text file with 2 columns separated with comma. The first column represent the Item Number and the second is for Packaging Options(pkg_options).

So it looks like this,

G1031,PkgPlastic
G1077,PkgMetal
G1039,PkgKeyTag
G1025,PkgPlastic
G1055,PkgPlastic
G3071,PkgFlashLight
K1079,PkgMetal

and so on...

How do I update this field in phpmyadmin? How do I import this text file I created so I dont
have to change each row at a time? Imagine this could take me a month or so... pls help.

A step by step tutorial would be much appreciated. Thanks very much!

best regards,
sebastian

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

Hello,
in what form do you need to enter them? I really don't understand... It seems like you need a different table for the pkgoptions, I really don't know how you want the different packages to be entered...

Also, there is no way to use phpmyadmin for it. You need to learn how to use PHP for MySQL.
Connection:

mysql_connect($host,$username,$password);

Database selection:

mysql_select_db($database);

Querying:

$result = mysql_query($query);

More about MySQL in PHP: http://www.php.net/mysql

Well, assuming you want to enter them into the field pkg_options just as they are in the file, with | signs seperating them...

<?php
if(@mysql_query("UPDATE table_name SET pkg_options='".implode(file("pkgoptions.txt"),"|")."' WHERE Ihavenoidea='alsoIhavenoidea';")) {
  echo "Success!";
}
else {
  echo "Failure! Error is: ".mysql_query();
}
?>

I really don't understand why you are making this a field, and not a column.