HI everyone! I'm Darkwing. Me and a crew of ppl, mostly teens :D, are willing to create an RPG named "Phoenix Dream". The thing is, i'm still learning, really, just starting to learn to program, so i'd need help from someone experienced enough to deal with 3D rendering and creation and programming. If anyone of you is willing to help me, PM me! I'll be glad for any help!

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

Hi darkwind!

nice idea, the title sounds great. Usually the first beginners want to create an MMORPG ;)

I think, and I think the others think that too, that you should not begin programming with a 3D game. Look, I started programming 5 years ago, and since 1 year I use Blender, to create 3D models/scenes. Just three days ago, I started to program a 3D Application. And that is not easy for me... :S

So, if this doesn't change your mind, you should really start to learn C++, because there are several very powerful Game Engines for this language. I use Ogre3D, for which you can get an Exporter for Models from Blender. These are the most important Tools for your project. Of course you will need a Graphics Software to create Textures, Photoshop would be nice, but GIMP will do it, too. You'll also need the OgreXMLConverter, which you can find in the Command Line Tools from the Ogre Tools Downloads.
Finally, you will need a C++ IDE, the program in which you program your program. :D I use MS Visual C++ 2008 Express, which is free is you register for free.