Hi all,

I have 2 years experience with VC++ and C#,

I am now looking for doing some smart phone apps, but I don't know which platform is better in the future, iphone or android? Which one should I choose?

cheers

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

i'd prefer iphone, i always liked iphone because its user friendly

I'd say it was 50-50. iPhone has a bigger/better market, but it is expensive to develop for (if you want full functionality available by using the iPhone SDK with Objective-C). Alternatively, you can use Dragonfire SDK (C++), which has limited capabilities, but you can still make great apps with it. Android is (IMO) harder to program with, but it has much cheaper development tools (many are free) and distribution is very low cost. If I had to choose though, I would take DragonfireSDK for iPhone. However, if you make successful, popular iPhone apps, what's to say you couldn't make android versions?

i'd prefer iphone, i always liked iphone because its user friendly

User friendly based on what? That is just personal opinion with no technical background at all...

@frodo_man
Choice is really yours with given background you can pick up either programming language. At the moment it would be more question of initial investment. For me downside of this is having Mac machine as their SDK is not ported to other OS and it will not run on Intel machine with Mac OS if it is not official hardware. Beside that you may want to buy iPhone since there been many complains about their emulator, unlike Android where you can happily start of just with emulator.

The c++ and particularly c# experience to me means you'll naturally pick up java as C# was really in many ways copied from java and the three languages share the same syntax. I don't know objective c, but I've thumbed through a book and it does not look like java or c# the code to me.