Alright I am new to assembly but I cannot figure out the simplist thing even though I have looked for hours.

I want to make a very simple program that finds the default drive and prints it.

So that would be 19h and interuppt 21, that gets the current default drive. But how do I get it to print the results? Do I have to save the results to a variable and then print it?

Any help would be appriciated.

Thanks

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

Whenever programming in assembly you should have at least one very good resource for documentation. Google helps too.

Some common INT 21h documentation.

The documentation indicates that function 19h returns the drive number in AL as an integer. You can print it after converting it to an ASCII character.

; get the drive number in AL (0, 1, 2, ...)
        mov ah, 19h
        int 21h

; convert the number to a letter ('A', 'B', 'C', ...)
        add al, 'A'

; print the character to standard output
        mov dl, al
        mov ah, 02h
        int 21h

Hope this helps.

Whenever programming in assembly you should have at least one very good resource for documentation. Google helps too.

Some common INT 21h documentation.

The documentation indicates that function 19h returns the drive number in AL as an integer. You can print it after converting it to an ASCII character.

mov ah, 19h
        int 21h

add al, 'A'

; print the character to standard output
        mov dl, al
        mov ah, 02h
        int 21h

Hope this helps.

Thank you for the much better link for interupts and such.

I just started trying assembly so sorry for the dumb questions. I tried the code you pasted and I assembled it fine but when I run it nothing happens? Is it converting the number to strictly letter 'A' or is it doing it the the exact corresponding letter?

It works for me (using MASM). Of course, I wrapped it up appropriately in the necessary directives and added code to display a better message and to terminate the program.

.model small