I am new to programming and after a month or so of googling, I have decided to learn Python. Is this a good time to learn the language or people will soon jump ship since JAVA is now open source? By open source software, I understand that the code developed freely and more people have access. Am I right?

Recommended Answers

All 70 Replies

Python is a language that I personally have had no real experiance with but I understand is very popular in the open source world. Python and C appear to be the current choice for majority of open source developers, therefor you should have no shortage of projects to work on or great open source libarys to use. Java does not support as many open source libarys as python and I dare say will not anytime in the near future.

It appears that python is a really good beginner language and also quite good for quickly creating code.

I also don't see people jumping ship to support Java. I feel community development will be quite strong with python and Java will have alot more commertial development ( organizations that wish to create open source projects. )

it's never too late to learn python :)
awesome language, you'll pick it up quick and it beats VB (in my opinion)

A lot of programmers use both Java and Python. Python has the advantage of a much more rapid learning and program development phase. So I would learn Python first. Once you learn Python you can access Java libaries easily with Jython, also open source.

Python is one of the best languages I have ever used, after trying C, C++, Java, Ruby, and Perl. It's good for full-applications as well as small scripts.

Look at the syntax of Java and Python. Which one would you rather use?

If I would have to write an office suite to compete with Microsoft's Office, I would use Java, as has been successfully done with "Open Office". For projects that are less gigantic, and I need to develop quickly, I would use Python.