Hi all,

First off, I'm relatively new to the world of C/C++. I've taken some courses in University years ago and haven't used it much since.

What brings me back is the following dilema I have:

I've built an application using National Instruments LabVIEW (www.ni.com). For those not familiar its a graphical programming language used mostly for customized data acquisition and control applications. A requirement of software built with LabVIEW is that it requires the LabVIEW runtime engine. It comes packed as an installer and it must be installed before the labview created exe can run.

What we'd like to do is put this application on a cd and have it autorun when the user inserts the cd. This works fine if they have the run time engine installed but won't work if its not installed.

So what I was thinking is:
autorun a C created program to detect if the runtime engine is installed (I would have to check for a registry key)
- If it is installed, run my exe
- If not installed, run runtime engine setup,the my exe

Is this hard to do? Anyone tried something like this before? Is this something installshield is designed for? How can I detect if a registry key exists?

Thanks for any help you can provide.

Jay

Recommended Answers

All 2 Replies

Greetings lvdude,

Doing this is not hard. There is a simple approach to this.

Understanding that you are talking about Windows, hence the "Registry", it is not hard to check for a key and its existance.

I just wrote an example of how to query a registry key. It may help gear you in the right direction:

#include <windows.h>
#include <stdio.h>

int checkKey(HKEY tree, const char *folder, char *key) {
	long lRet;
	HKEY hKey;
	char temp[150];
	DWORD dwBufLen;

// Open location
	lRet = RegOpenKeyEx( tree, folder, 0, KEY_QUERY_VALUE, &hKey );
	if (lRet != ERROR_SUCCESS)
		return 0;

// Get key
	dwBufLen = sizeof(temp);
	lRet = RegQueryValueEx( hKey, key, NULL, NULL, (BYTE*)&temp, &dwBufLen );
		return 0;