Ok Yes I admit it I'm a student with a homework problem but I'm using this forum as a last resort. I've already written the code and I can't find the error no matter how many times I look over it so I really just need a second set of eyes. Don't tell me how to fix it just tell me what line/lines it is in and I'll figure it out myself.

// Weighted Average program
// Written by Will Styers CIS115-01

#using <mscorlib.dll>
using namespace System;

int main()
{
	//declaration of variables
	int test1        = 0;
	int test2        = 0;
	int test3        = 0;
	int lab1         = 0;
	int lab2         = 0;
	int lab3         = 0;
	int lab4         = 0;
	int lab5         = 0;
	int exam         = 0;
	int avgt         = 0;
	int avgl         = 0;
	int finalAverage = 0;

//asking for user input

Console::Write("Enter first test:");
	test1 = Console::ReadLine();
	Console::Write("Enter second test:");
	test2 = Console::ReadLine();
	Console::Write("Enter third test:");
	test3 = Console::ReadLine();
	Console::Write("Enter first lab:");
	lab1 = Console::ReadLine();
	Console::Write("Enter second lab:");
	lab2 = Console::ReadLine();
	Console::Write("Enter third lab:");
	lab3 = Console::ReadLine();
	Console::Write("Enter fourth lab:");
	lab4 = Console::ReadLine();
	Console::Write("Enter fifth lab:");
	lab5 = Console::ReadLine();
	Console::Write("Enter final exam:");
	exam = Console::ReadLine();

//Equations

avgt = (test1 + test2 + test3)/3;
	avgl = (lab1 + lab2 + lab3 + lab4 + lab5)/5;
	finalAverage = (avgt * .30) + (avgl * .50) + (exam * .20);

//output statement

Console::WriteLine("The final average is {0}.",Convert::ToString(finalAverage));

return 0;
}	//End main function

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

First, I think you should declare avgt, avgl and finalAverage as float or double. But could be useful if you specify what kind of error you get.