Hi everyone,

I am a computer teacher in the midwest that is going to have to teach a unit on QBASIC very shortly! i am really a science teacher and would love a little help.

i am looking for short, 10 lines or so, programs that the kids can type in and see something neat.

also i have some code that they can use, but it wasn't originally qbasic, and the random numbers are written differently. can anyone tell me how to write the following line in qbasic (i think this code is originally for commodores!)

30 LET R=INT (100 * RND ( :idea: )) + 1

with :idea: = a box on my paper, don't know what the box is, but a long time teacher here says it was a key on the old computers!!

Also any sights with tutorials that 8th and 9th graders might like, or a sight explaining programing in qbasic in simple terms. In short any online sites that can be read by children and deal with qbasic.

Any help is appriciated, thank you in advance.

Thanks,
Russell Gregory

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Russell, There are still plenty of QB sites out there many of them having downloads of programs.

The ABC archives are still out there too (All Basic Code). which has code
dating back to the early to middle 90's.

There are some tutorials around too. How good I don't know.
The QB help (Shift F1) is good for many of the statements with some giving
examples (especially using QuickBasic 4.5 instead of Qbasic).

http://thunder.prohosting.com/oasys/frameex1.htm

that image would be a number. RND(x) would give a number bewtween 0 and X. INT isn't necessary.

R = 100*RND(X) + 1

So why is a teacher with no QB knowledge teaching a class on it?

So why is a teacher with no QB knowledge teaching a class on it?