Hey there,
I'm trying to use the SetSuspendState() function to hibernate the computer, but I have no idea what parameters I should send to it. The prototype is "BOOLEAN WINAPI SetSuspendState(BOOLEAN, BOOLEAN, BOOLEAN);"
Since I'm a somewhat beginner in c++ programming, I don't really have an idea what BOOLEAN means and what I should send as a BOOLEAN. I tried the "true" and "false", numbers and variables, but none worked.
The compiler error is as follows:
[Linker error] undefined reference to `SetSuspendState@12'
By the way -- I'm using Dev-C++ 4.9.9.2
I checked about SetSuspendState() in DaniWeb, and googled it, but came up with nothing.
Thanks in advance to the helpers!

Recommended Answers

All 14 Replies

>>I checked about SetSuspendState() in DaniWeb, and googled it, but came up with nothing.
Not supprised about DaniWeb, but google had lots of links

Always either search MSDN or google for all win32 api functions, and they will give you detailed information. Here is the information you need.

I checked about SetSuspendState() in DaniWeb, and googled it, but came up with nothing.
Thanks in advance to the helpers!

Are you sure you googled it? There's about a billion relevant hits on 'setsupendstate'.

from the horses mouth:
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa373201.aspx

BOOLEAN is true/false (1/0).

The linker error you got (couldn't find xxx) is because you haven't included the powerprof.a library in your project. Go to project options, parameters, add library or object, find libpowrprof.a. Will work after that.

I don't have the option to choose "project options", since it's not in a project.
Is there a way I can do it not in a project?

You have to make a project then it will work. Just create a new project and copy the file into it.

Now I get this error:
"26 E:\C++_programs\Makefile.win [Build Error] *** target pattern contains no `%'. Stop. "
(after making it a project and including the said file)

Let me have a look in my crystal ball....