Hi,

Firstly Ill say that I'm a comlete newbie to perl, and this is more of an investigation question than a code one.

I want to use perl for a CGI script- however I need the source code to be completely closed source - so that users cant decompile it ( I plan to distribute it and it would be a security issue if the source code got out). I understand that perl can be compiled into bytecode, but I read somewhere that you can just as easily decompile the bytecode.

If you can easily decompile it are there any other solutions for keeping the source closed, while being able to be platform independant?

I have alot of experience with python and my understanding is that its much harder to decompile php's bytecode than it is with perl.

Thanks for your help,
PC_Nerd

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

So what exactly do you mean by that? - I dont understand you.

The first point was a link to an article that describes why the concept of 'security through obscurity' was false. (The concept that just because you aren't telling anyone about how you do something that it is therefore secure.)

The second half about the 'big enough target' refers to the fact that if there is a big enough reward, someone will put in the effort required to break any security.

If you've got a secret, then hiding it in the source code will not work.

a) you don't know how long it will be before someone cracks it.
b) worse, you don't know how long they knew how to crack it, before you found out.
Say it takes a year for you to find out it's been cracked, but the crack has been known for 11 months. You've had 1 month of security, and 11 months of problems.

Perhaps begin with a description of the problem, and not a description of how to make your solution secure.

For example, what's the application?
Defending against kiddies trying to improve their rank on an online game is a completely different problem to defending state secrets from the likes of the NSA.