hi,
i am a newbie and have to write a rather complicated script. Assume that i have a variable called x and a C source code file say file1.c (this are the inputs of the script) and i need to find the names of all the functions in the C file containing x.Take the following code as an example:

1.int main(void);
   2.void foo(void);
   3.void bar(void);
   5.int main(void)
   6.{
   7.int x;
   8.return 0;
   9.}
  11.void foo(void)
  12.{
  13.int x;
  14.}
  16.void bar(void)
  17.{
  18.int x;
  19.}

so i guess the output should be:

in 5. main(void) x occurs in line 7 as int x;

in 11.foo(void) x occurs in line 13 as int x

and in 16.bar(void) x occurs in line 18 as int x

Something similar to but not exactly as above. To print the name of the functions containing x is crucial.

i can find line number using grep -n and probably use sed -n '/{/,/}/p' file1.c to select blocks of code delimited by { and } but I'm not sure how to refine this further.

any help would be welcome.

thanks,
Sam

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

hi,
thanks for the reply..no i don't think i can use an external tool because they have a lot of other features that are not required...i just need a way to solve this problem using sed or awk.

thanks,
Sam

hi,

i was looking at ctags program and i still couldn't figure out how to derive the information i need from a tag file. Can you kindly explain how can i exactly use ctags and the ID utilities to find the function name for a given variable.

thanks,
Sam

double posted here

commented: Thanks for the heads-up +25

> and i need to find the names of all the functions in the C file containing x.
Is this the only thing you need?

C is hard to parse 1-line at a time using sed/awk/grep.
Eg.

int
foo ( void ) {
  int x;
}

int foo ( void )
{
  int x;
}

int foo (
   void
) {
  /* int x; */
  int a,
      x;
}