Hi all,

I'm relatively new to python (I've been writing python code for about half a year now) and I'm trying to figure out how to use "seek" on larger files.

I'm doing some work with large hard disk image files, and the raw devices themselves. I need the ability to seek towards the tail end of a file that is extremely large (hundreds of gigs).

Below is an excerpt of the code I'm using:

f.seek(self.offset*512L)
        f.seek(self.sectors_per_cluster*self.start_cluster_mft*512L, os.SEEK_CUR)
        f.seek(record_number*512L*self.mft_cluster_size, os.SEEK_CUR)
        mft = f.read(512L*self.mft_cluster_size)

It looks like currently, the seek in python only allows me to use long (32 bit integers) as an offset in fseek, or maybe it's just that I can't use long long (64 bit) integers with Python under my current operating system. I don't know how to get around this limitation...

The Windows API can definitely work with large files, and in Linux I believe (if I remember correctly) I could use lseek64 using C.

Is there a way around this limitation with Python? Is there a library I can use, or any other way I do this without have to write some kinda crazy hack.

BTW, I'm using a 32 bit build of Windows XP and Python 2.5.

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Why don't you use the second parameter of the seek function ?

From http://docs.python.org/library/stdtypes.html#file-objects :

file.seek(offset[, whence])¶

Set the file’s current position, like stdio‘s fseek. The whence argument is optional and defaults to os.SEEK_SET or 0 (absolute file positioning); other values are os.SEEK_CUR or 1 (seek relative to the current position) and os.SEEK_END or 2 (seek relative to the file’s end). There is no return value.

For example, f.seek(2, os.SEEK_CUR) advances the position by two and f.seek(-3, os.SEEK_END) sets the position to the third to last.