Hi there,
this is my first post, so pls be polite ;)
since a few days i am programming java (for school).

but i dont get it.. i tried to fill the 4x4 matrix with random generated numbers (1-16) and wrote a method, that they could only be used once.
then i wrote some methods to check wether die rows,cols and diagonals have the right sum.

But that way coasts me ~1 day to find a real magic square and that is def. not okay.
i googled for a while and found many solutions, but most of them didn't work correctly. someone told me, that i am supposed to use "backtracking". but i dont understand this theory.

Does anybody have a working backtracking solution for an evan magic square or could explain that theory to me?

it would be really great!

thank you

bye

ps: sorry for my bad english.

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

I'd like to help... but I have no knowledge of magic squares or the mentioned algorithm... or perhaps I do and it just sounds foreign. Care to explain what a magic square is? An example would suffice. It appears that you just need a bunch of criteria to verify if the square is 'magic' or not? In which case, please show us your code so that we can identify logic errors... and perhaps you don't need to use backtracking.

Oh and welcome to DaniWeb! You'll find that we're rather polite and friendly to those that actually try to do their homework hehe

Hi,
thank you for welcoming me ;)

Sorry, i'd forgotten to explain the magic square:
a magicS is matrix (in my case 4x4) filled with the numbers from 1 - 16. each number could only be used once and the sum of every row,collum and the 2 diagonals has to be 34.

i have tried some algorithms and i made it.

public void versuche(int n, int[][] quadrat, int ziffer){
	          long time1 = System.currentTimeMillis();
		if ((ziffer > (n*n)) && isMagisch(quadrat)){
			zeige(quadrat);
			System.exit(0);
		} else {
			for (int x = 0;x<n; x++){
				for (int y = 0; y <n; y++){
					if (quadrat[x][y] == 0){