Hi all i am a newbie in development
I have a window application in vb.net in VS 2003 there is a tabcontrol which has three tab pages.
i want that user was not able to change tabpages by clicking tabcontrol rahter than it is done by clicking button on tabpages how it is possible
please help me
thanks in advance
Report post as abusive

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

Hold current TabPageIndex in integral variable, and once the click done on any TabPage set the TabControl SelectedIndex = the integral value tabControl1.SelectedIndex = integral variable;

You can also do it in the event handler of the TabControl.SelectedIndexChanged

I am able to show specific tab page on button click. but i did not want user to change tabpage by clicking on tabcontrol but by clicking button only

I tried one solution but it is not full proof It may cause error in later part

on load event of form i give

dim tab as integer =1

then when user click on tabcontrol then on validating event of tabpage i put the code that

if tab=1 then
e.cancel=true
else
end if

so when user click on tabcontrol than tab=1 so the tabpage is not changed

on button click event i used this code

tab=2
tabcontol1.selectedtabindex=1

so now tab is not 1 so it will not trap on if else coding of validating event & user will able to change tab page by clicking on button not on clicking tabcontrol because in end of elseif event i again value tab=1

Private Sub Browse_Validating(ByVal sender As Object, ByVal e As System.ComponentModel.CancelEventArgs) Handles Browse.Validating

If tab = 1 Then   (tab is a variable)

e.Cancel = True

Else

End If

tab = 1

End Sub

and on button click event

tab=2

tabcontrol1.selectedtab = browse

I only entered in the programming job since last 2 month. I am working in Publighing house. they have no IT department Or IT staff. They want to develop their data entry program in vb.net & SQL server.