Hi all, I want to begin programming in either Java1 or Java2 (probably Java2 as it is the more recent). Are there any free Java2 compilers on the internet (like the Bloodshed C++ compiler) I could download?

Thanks

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

Don't learn java1 that would be a waste. Learn java2. There are lots of free compilers at this place:

java.sun.com

You should see something on the right hand side saying popular downloads and then click on the J2SE 5.0.

Thank you!

Hi all, I want to begin programming in either Java1 or Java2 (probably Java2 as it is the more recent). Are there any free Java2 compilers on the internet (like the Bloodshed C++ compiler) I could download?

Thanks

Hi there xinix, I am also new to the OOP programming world and I have found that java is the best place to start. :cool:
So my advice to you is that you should start from the begining because it gives you a view of the bigger picture and makes it easy for you to understand java's evolution...So just take you time at it and start with java one(May be a bit limited yet rewarding).Let the Mutantion continue... :o

in fact, all compilers that I know of are free. It's the editors you can elect commercial offerings for (which often offer production enhancing features not found in the free ones).

But when learning the language, don't use a full blown IDE. Those prevent you from learning important concepts like package structure and classpaths.

There's a ton of questions being posted in Java forums constantly by people who claim to have been using Java for years yet when faced with a commandline don't even know how to call the compiler...

Very true jwenting. I know at my high school we are using textpad and no one but I has ever had any previous programming experience. I didn't understand why they started this way but they did. Also, our first project was an applet, and they didn't even have to write the html code for it. The IDE did it for them. :rolleyes: