Can someone please, please, please give me the syntax in vb 2008 for referencing records on a parent form, I’ve been trying to do this for ages and can’t work it out or find help that answers this. I’m new to VS and vb2008 so please excuse any errors in describing my scenario.

· Form A is bound to a strongly typed Dataset named MASTERDATASET which comprises of multiple related sql server tables. One of the tables is named TBLCUSTOMER.

· TBLCUSTOMER details are displayed on form A in a Gridview named CUSTOMERGRIDVIEW

· Form B displays details from TBLCUSTOMER in detailview . The primary key is customerID.

When I click a row in CUSTOMERGRIDVIEW on form A I want to open form B and display records relating to that customer.

Please let me know if there’s insufficient details to answer this or if the problem is unclear.

Many thanks in advance

Hi,

(I hope understand your problem)

1)
You can use the event "CellClick" of the DataGridView in form A:

' in this code the primary key of the table is loaded in the first column, Me.DataGridView1.CurrentRow.Cells(0).Value

Private Sub DataGridView1_CellClick(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.Windows.Forms.DataGridViewCellEventArgs) Handles DataGridView1.CellClick
Dim customerID_ As Integer = Me.DataGridView1.CurrentRow.Cells(0).Value
Dim Instance_FormB As New FormB(customerID_)
Instance_FormB.ShowDialog()
End Sub

2)

in Form B you can use this:

' Is the code of all class of Form B
Public Class FormB

Dim customer_ID As Integer

Private Sub FormB_Load(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles MyBase.Load
'in this place your have to fill the dadatGridView with the details from TBLCUSTOMER
End Sub

I want this help you... (sorry.....my english is not very good)

Public Sub New(ByVal customerID As Integer)
' This call is required by the Windows Form Designer.
InitializeComponent()
customer_ID = customerID
' Add any initialization after the InitializeComponent() call.
End Sub
End Class