Hello Friends,

I know how to connect to MS Access Database using DAO, in Visual Basic 6.0.

I am new to Winsock Control. I completed some basic tutorials of Winsock, so I know how to send messages from Client to Server & vice versa.

But now, I want to to do the following...

"Users logs in through Client...... The login information goes to Server.... Server compares it wid Database & reports to the client if the login is successful or failed."

So can any one tel me how should I do it?

Can some also tell me.... how should I send two seperate strings (username & password) to server???

Thanks

(I am sorry.... if my post is confusing)

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

Why go through winsock? You don't need to unless you are trying to do this over internet (ie. not lan) and then if you are doing this over the internet then there are many technologies that will allow you to do this via a thin client (think asp). Also, if internet, dao and access are the wrong technologies to use. You would want to use ADO and at least MySQL.

So in short, you do not need the winsock to connect to an access database via dao.

Good Luck

@ vb5prgmr

Okie I ll provide some more background to you... :)

Actually I am working on my College Project. Its called "Cricket Stats Manager" as the project will deal with all the statistical information about the game of cricket & its analysis, etc.

My idea about the project is that......... There will be many Client Apps that will be used by various Statisticians for updating, editing & performing other operations on the Database.

So I want the Client to send data to the Server, so that the Server does the Database updation n editing.

I know that Database Connectivity or ADO has got to do nothing with Winsock, but I am trying to use Winsock for making globally centralised Database.

Practically my Clients, Server & Database will be located on the same machine (since its just a college project).

I hope I am much more clear this time ! ;)