Hello ladies and gents,

Ive got this example of a program that I tried out wich shows some special possibilities to use new.

#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

int main()
{
	int a[100]= {0};

for (int i = 0; i < 100; ++i)
		a[i] = 100 * i;

int *p = new(a) int [5];

for (int j = 0; j < 5; j++)
		cout<< p[j] << " ";					// 0 10 20 30 40

cout<<endl;

double *pd = new (a + 5) double;

*pd = 12.34;

cout<< *pd <<endl;						// 12.34

float *pf = new (a + 50) float (5.6F);
	cout<< *pf <<endl;						// 5.6

return 0;
}

Now, as a good hobbyist I'm trying to be, I tried to delete the pointer with

delete p;

But, euh..., that didn't work and gave my computer almost a hart attack :)

So I figured, it's got to do with the fact that the array a is connected to the pointer.

If I'm correct, then problem is, how do I delete it, do I use a loop in wich I delete everything in the array. Because I tought you only had to delete the pointer pointing to the first place?

Ive tried to use this:

delete [] p;

but got the same result, get message:
Debug Assertion Failed!
file: dbgheap.c
Line:1011

ANy help would be greatly appreciated ;)

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

A shot into new (pun!) territory for me.

Here (way down at the bottom) it states,

Since placement new doesn't allocate any memory, it's an error to delete the object created by it.

For the time being I've been going with this method.

ADVICE: Don't use this "placement new" syntax unless you have to. Use it only when you really care that an object is placed at a particular location in memory. For example, when your hardware has a memory-mapped I/O timer device, and you want to place a Clock object at that memory location.

Thanks for the links Dave, I'll read them first and when Ive got questions, I'll be back ;)

#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

int main()
    {
        int a[100]= {0};

a[i] = 100 * i;

int *p = new(a) int [5];

for (int j = 0; j < 5; j++)