Hi!
I'm a beginner to VB.NET. I'm working on an application which is created using VB.NET 2005 and the DB is created in SQL server 2005. I'm able to delete a record from a table when it is not used in another table as a Foreign Key.
For eg. If I create a new Customer and saves it in Customer Table, i can delete it with out any problems using the following code..

If .DeleteCancelbutton.Text = "&Delete" Then
                    deleteDialogResult = MessageBox.Show("Delete this record?", "Confirm Delete", MessageBoxButtons.YesNo, MessageBoxIcon.Question)
                    If deleteDialogResult = Windows.Forms.DialogResult.Yes Then
                        .CustomerBindingSource.RemoveCurrent()
                        .CustomerTableAdapter.Update(.ProjectPrototypeV2DataSet.Customer)
                        .ToolStripStatusLabel1.Text = " Record Deleted"
                    End If

But if i add a SITE to that customer, then try to delete the Customer, It deletes the customer, but does not delete the related SITE.
I tried setting the foreign key constriants to DELETE CASCADE, but then I can't load the tables using the Fill method to the Tableadapters... gives an error saying something about too much forign key constraints. currently i'm only having relational constraints.
is there a method which I use to delete a record from a table and delete all the information in other tables that are related to the deleted record?
I was thinking of using a Stored Procedure, but I don't know how to call a Stored procedure in the forms. I'm using TableAdapters and Bindingsource to get data to the froms...
Can any one please help me....

Ishani

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

It is preferable to execute a procedure over letting your code have ANY access to tables directly.
I pulled the following script from help files looking up ExecuteNonQuery. Note the same type of query with SQL objects is available as well.

Public Sub CreateMyOdbcCommand(myExecuteQuery As String, _