Alright so I want to write a program that will compute trig functions (sin, cos, tan, arcsin, etc.). Basically I'm ignoring the included math library in python and hard coding it myself. My issue is that I'm fairly new to programming and not sure how to go about coding a series (Taylor series). I've already managed to figure out the factorials but I'm just lost on the series. Any help would be greatly appreciated :D

thanks a lot.

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

To approximate for instance the sine of x (x in radians) you can use the Taylor series expansion:
x - x**3/3! + x**5/5! - x**7/7! + ...

However, to get even a remotely accurate number the cutoff for the convergence is large. Your factorials will be huge very quickly too and make floating point numbers impossible.

There are other series expansions available that converge much quicker.

To approximate for instance the sine of x (x in radians) you can use the Taylor series expansion:
x - x**3/3! + x**5/5! - x**7/7! + ...

However, to get even a remotely accurate number the cutoff for the convergence is large. Your factorials will be huge very quickly too and make floating point numbers impossible.

There are other series expansions available that converge much quicker.

I ended up figuring it out by breaking down sin into a function of series rather than using Taylor expansions. It was much simpler. This was my code for sin:

def sine(x):
    sum = 0.0
    n = 0.0
    term = 1.0
    while (term > .0000000001):
        #loops until the iterations grow so large that 'term' becomes negligibly small
        term = ((x ** (2 * n + 1.0))) / (factorial(2 * n + 1.0))
        if n % 2 == 0:
            sum += term
        else:
            sum -= term
        n += 1
    return sum

I also had made a function to calculate factorials, fyi.

I ended up figuring it out by breaking down sin into a function of series rather than using Taylor expansions. It was much simpler. This was my code for sin:

def sine(x):