Hi

I'm new to C# and need help. i want my listbox updated when it collect as many logs. The application at the background is still working but the GUI is not as responsive. I tried it with the thread also but got the error

"Cross-thread operation not valid: Control 'textBox1' accessed from a thread other than the thread it was created on."

Any help will be appreciated.

Thanx

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

Generally I try to keep my responses as positive and helpful as possible. While I'm not always able to give an actual solution I try to do what I can or I don't normally post at all.

However, in the past 24 hours of thread skimming I've come across approximately 75% of the posts I've looked at where no reference code is provided. While not every question requires code examples in order to be resolved, many would strongly benefit from them.

What would probably help here would be code snippets from the areas of your application in which the affected control is in play. By seeing how it is currently being manipulated perhaps one of the many skilled and experienced coders on this site will be able to spot a flaw or loophole and provide a solution for you.

Again, I apologize if this sounds harsh and I'm not 100% directing it at you... you just happened to be the one poster at the end of a long list of several who didn't provide any objective code reference to work with :P

commented: Great Response!!! +10

You only want to use Invoke or BeginInvoke for the bare minimum piece of work required to change the UI.

Take a look at - http://www.yoda.arachsys.com/csharp/threads/ and http://www.yoda.arachsys.com/csharp/threads/winforms.shtml

You can place following code in click handler of button.

listBox1.Invoke(new Action(()=>
                {
                    for (int i = 1; i <= 10; i++)
                    {
                        System.Threading.Thread.Sleep(100);
                        listBox1.Items.Add(i.ToString());