#include<iostream>
#include<string.h>
int main()
{
 char* str="my name"; /*plz explain what is pointer-name,and what is string-
                              name here(realy confused) ? i am new to pointers :) */
 int len=strlen(str);
 char* ptr;
 ptr=new char[len+1]; /*is this ptr pointer or string*/
 strcpy(ptr,str);
 cout<<ptr;
 delete ptr;   /*how this works */
 cout<<endl<<ptr;    /*this 'ptr' should be destroyed as effect of "delete ptr"
                            ,but still displaying here when executed*/
 return 0;
}

Recommended Answers

All 13 Replies

Well in "char* str="my name";" the _string_ "my name" is a list (or array) of characters (char) and "str" is a pointer to the first character in the list. So by incrementing the pointer "str" you get a pointer to the next character, then the next, and the next again, until you hit a character which is 0 (or '\0'), hence the name "null-terminated string". This is what "strlen(str)" does, it goes from character to character, starting from the pointer "str" to find the null character, and then it returns the count of how many characters there are before the null character (which terminates the string).

>>/*is this ptr pointer or string*/
Well as in the above, a pointer to chars (char*) is a pointer. If there is a null-character at the end, which it will after the call to "strcpy", it can be called a string, or null-terminated string.

>>/*this 'ptr' should be destroyed as effect of "delete ptr",but still displaying here when executed*/