Hi. I am a C/C++ newbie. I am looking for advice on best practice.
I am building an application which will take an input command (string), compare it with a list of stored commands, and go off to the relevant function. What i'd like to know is; what is the best way to declare/initialise the list of commands to compare against? Should I create a struct in the header and then initialise in a constructor or something like that?
I am using a switch statement, so they must be constant (ie I can't just use the relevant string within the switch statements), so I need to create a construct of some sort. There are commands in different categories. For example, IO commands, UUT commands etc. Our application can use C++ constructs but only C functions (for compatibility).

A code snippet showing what i'd like to do:

switch(sCmdInt[1]) 
	{
        // PEB 2 RELATED COMMANDS
	case  "EXECUTEFILESVF":
	TSL1_ExecuteWithVCCCheckCommand (sCmdInt[1])
        }

Any help would be appreciated.

Recommended Answers

All 18 Replies

I would use a function lookup table.

It can be done with C/C++ compatibility.

Here's an example:

#include <iostream>
#include <string>

void FunctionOne()
{
   cout << "Function One Called" << endl;
}

void FunctionTwo()
{
   cout << "Function Two Called" << endl;
}

struct 
{
   (void)(*function)();
   const char* functionName;
}
lookUpTable[] = { {&FunctionOne, "FunctionOne"}, {&FunctionTwo, "FunctionTwo"}, {NULL, NULL} }; // Two null's to indicate end of array...

bool CallFunction(const string& functionName)
{
   for(int index = 0; lookUpTable[index].fn; index++)
   {
      if(functionName == lookUpTable[index].key)
      {
         (*(lookUpTable[index].fn))();
         return true;
      }
   }
   return false;
}

int main(int argc, char** argv)
{
   CallFunction("FunctionOne");
   CallFunction("FunctionTwo");
   return EXIT_SUCCESS;
}

There you have it. I know this is basically a code dump so I'll explain what it all does.