ehrendreich 0 Newbie Poster

I am rather new to vb and could use some help. I am using the latest version of vb and am working with a database to add some records. Simply, I would like to have a form that adds a new record into the tblContact table then enter a few fields into the tblContactLog table. The tblContactLog table is tied to the tblContact table with a key called ContactID.

tblContact     tblContactLog

ContactID      ContactID
FirstName      ContactPurpose
LastName       ContactNotes

I realize that I have to create the contact in the tblContact table first. Then I need to read that ContactID from the current record. After I read that value from the current record I need to open the tblContactPurpose table and insert a new record with the ContactID from previous operation.

I have an existing dataset called Clubhouse_Management_SystemDataSet that contains both tables. I have 2 table adapters. One is called TblContactTableAdapter & the other is TblContactLogTableAdapter. For each there is also a binding source. One is TblContactBindingSource and the other TblContactLogBindingSource.

When the form loads I have it filling the table adapters with

'TODO: This line of code loads data into the 'Clubhouse_Management_SystemDataSet.tblContactLog' table. You can move, or remove it, as needed.
Me.TblContactLogTableAdapter.Fill(Me.Clubhouse_Management_SystemDataSet.tblContactLog)
'TODO: This line of code loads data into the        'Clubhouse_Management_SystemDataSet.tblContact' table. You can move, or remove it, as needed.
Me.TblContactTableAdapter.Fill(Me.Clubhouse_Management_SystemDataSet.tblContact)
TblContactBindingSource.AddNew()

I have a button (btnAdd) that does

TblContactLogBindingSource.EndEdit()
    TblContactTableAdapter.Update(Clubhouse_Management_SystemDataSet.tblContact)
    TblContactLogBindingSource.AddNew()