Okay, I started learning Python last weekend on Saturday with some tutorials and a book.
With this being my first programming language my program won't amaze you :P
The program I made is a calculator for working out how much turf a person would need given the length and the width of the area. It can add an extra 5% extra for 'Trimming & Wastage' and it suggests an amount after rounding up the total number.

print "*************************"
print "Turf Calculator v1.0.0"
print "*************************"

import math

turf = True

while turf:
    print "\n-------------------------\n"
    length = input("Enter Length: ")
    width = input("Enter Width: ")
    first = length * width
    second = first / 9.0
    total = second / 1.196
    add = raw_input('Add 5% for Trimming and Wastage? (Y/N): ')
    if add != 'y' and add != 'Y':
            print "Total: " + "%.2f" % total + " Rolls\n"
            print "Suggested Amount: " + `math.ceil(total)`
    elif add == 'y' or 'Y':
            final = total * 0.05
            last = total + final
            print "Total: " + "%.2f" % last + " Rolls\n"
            print "Suggested Amount: " + `math.ceil(last)` + " Rolls"
    end = raw_input('Re-run Program? (Y/N): ')
    if end != 'y' and end != 'Y':
            turf = False

Let me know what i could improve, add, remove or whatever else you think i should know.

One thing i would like to change if i can is, when they say yes to re-run the program, if it could completely reset and not leave previous results, if anybody understands what i mean.

Anyway, let me know what you think or if i missed anything :)

Cheers

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

See this link for the same question.

Thanks,

I took a look at the link and had a mess around with it but was only able to get it to do what it is already doing, which is re-running the program but leaving previous results behind.

I'm really new to this so no doubt I will have done something wrong.