What are the possible uses of the bitwise operators. i.e. bitwise AND, bitwise OR, bitwise XOR, shift right, shift left and complement.

Also, what are the applications of bitwise operators in everyday problem solving. Examples would be nice. Thanks in advance

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

That's like asking what the possible uses of arithmetic are and applications for everyday life. Can you narrow down your question just a little?

I'm glad you asked, because when I was a beginning programmer back in CSC100, I wondered the exact same thing.

If your school offers a course in assembly language, it will definitely unlock this mystery, as a lot of operations at the assembly level use bitwise operations.

Here are just a few uses of bitwise operations that I can think of right now:

• some simple encryption techniques use an XOR operation
  • you can 'OR' stuff together to get multiple properties (you see this a lot in windows programming). One example is or'ing colors together to get another color.
  • you can apply an 'AND' operation as a numerical mask.. one that comes to mind is a subnet mask (if you are familiar with networking)
  • you can perform fast multiplication by powers of 2 by shifting bits to the left.
  • the idea of 'One's compliment' and 'Two's compliment' are just simple techniques for handling negative (or 'signed') values at the assembly level.
  • some data compression techniques (I believe the Huffman algorithm) use bitwise operations.

If you want a simple homework assignment, try writing a program that takes a numerical input from the user, and your program should convert and display the binary equivilant.

A bit can only hold 1 of 2 values (1) or (0). These can be interpreted as (on/off), (yes/no), (true/false), etc.

One common use is to use bit shifts and the bitwise logicals to condense several of these types of values into a single variable to save space.