Here is the program requirement and I need the most simple method since i am a beginner

and this is what i have so far

import java.util.Random;
class Lotto
{
public static void main (String[] args)
{
Random r = new Random();
int mynums[] = {6, 25, 31, 15, 42};
int lotto[] = {r.nextInt(49)+1, r.nextInt(49)+1, r.nextInt(49)+1, r.nextInt(49)+1, r.nextInt(49)+1, r.nextInt(42)+1};
int match;

Recommended Answers

All 14 Replies

So what's the question? What are you having trouble with?
Do you want me to write the application for you?

Now this is what i've got but I am stuck and you can do anything to help me if u want id greatly appreciate it...My program is due tomorrow and I am trying really hard but not getting the concept

Hi riabear123,

Let's take a look at your Lotto.java file and try to figure out what it's doing.

First, you import the Random class from java.util, because you need some way of generating random numbers. Then you set up the object-oriented overhead - the class and main method declarations. Then you get to the meat.

You create a Random object called 'r'. You can think of this little guy as a worker who will perform certain jobs upon request. One job he can perform is called '.nextInt()' - the idea behind this job is given in the documentation for the Random class:

nextInt(int n) 
     Returns a pseudorandom, uniformly distributed int value between 0
(inclusive) and the specified value (exclusive), drawn from this random
number generator's sequence.

That's a little confusing. What it means is, if you create a Random object called r, and then say something like:

r.nextInt(5)

- r will put the numbers 0, 1, 2, 3, and 4 into a hat and draw one out at random, then return that number. It doesn't include 5 (that's what the word "exclusive" means in the documentation) and it will pull any of those five numbers with the same probability (that's what the term "uniformly-distributed" means in the documentation).