Hello, I am looking for a tutor to teach me how to make games in java.
Im not technically new to programming, I know the basic syntax from previous programming knowledge, I just need help on what function do what, etc, and any little thing java must have... :p

I will probably lose this link, lol, so please IM me via:

remove the " <> "

<SNIPPED>

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

The most important thing you need is a concept; then play around with java (use borland jbuilder or another context-helpful IDE), read the very, very basics to find out about the syntax. once you've done that, you just need to map your concept into objects that can interact to bring your concept into reality.

Depending on the style of games you're after, you may need to download and learn abit about 3D graphics and 3D programming. Java has an optional extension, Java3D, which is pretty simple and powerful enough for most situations.

Often, the hardest thing to do is to make the objects interact effectively (effective meaning quickly and without error) without restricting the potential for expandability, it's best to try and build up some good libraries that you can use to make a game than jump straight in and attempt to write your own hypercomplex game.

The next most difficult thing is getting your, now perfectly perfect, pieces of abstract code onto a medium that can be viewed by the user, it helps if you write your libraries with a visual representation always in mind, it can ruin an otherwise perfect structure to have to write-in layered 2d painting or 3d object manipulation routines; java3d uses a good structure for its objects anyway, so use that structure; or write a structure that complements it.

So, in order:

- Learn java syntax while thinking up a concept, often the concept will take alot of beating into shape, dependant on what you think you can use from the development language.