Hello I am new to C++ and coding. A few years ago I decided to learn C++ and wanted to start off by making a text based game to start off. So I brought a few books and began reading and doing the tutorials for things like 'Hello World', 'Calculator', 'Rolling Dice'. I did a lot of experimenting with input but became distracted with trying to get through High School that the work I was learning sort of sat there.

Only a few years later I have decided that I want to have an understanding of C++ but that the programming is not for me. A friend of mine recently compiled a simple program to roll dice. He explained he can successfully compile it and even make it run in the compiler, but he does not know how to get the game to play as an executable file/or doesn't know how to export it into whatever format needed to play it as a regular game.

I apologize if my terminology is all wrong but it is the only way I know how to describe the barrier hit.

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

A friend of mine recently compiled a simple program to roll dice. He explained he can successfully compile it and even make it run in the compiler, but he does not know how to get the game to play as an executable file/or doesn't know how to export it into whatever format needed to play it as a regular game.

I apologize if my terminology is all wrong but it is the only way I know how to describe the barrier hit.

Yes, I think the terminology may be a bit inexact. I'm guessing you are using "compiler" when you mean "IDE". Just a guess though. Here are a few (rough) terms:

compiler = something that turns C++ code into an executable program.

Integegrated Development Environment(IDE) = Tools like Visual Studio, Net Beans, Code Blocks, and Eclipse that combine a compiler, editor, debugger, and other tools.

executable program = A compiled program that can be run on the computer with or without an IDE.