I hope that this question is not out of place here. I have an access 2007 database for which I made a perfectly functioning simple "front end" program in VB6. That was back in XP or Vista days. I hadn't used it since the switch to Windows 7, and when I did, it seemed to work just fine for the first few tries, but NOW it refuses to run saying it can't find an installable ISAM, then appears with all text boxes blank.
I have read everything I can find, willing to rewrite the VB6 program if necessary, but the information in books and on the Internet seems to be too old to be legitimate any more. For one thing, it all seems based on the JET engine, which I thought I understood is no longer used by Access. I studied SQL and admired it, but can't see any way to use it in VB6 programs to access the database.
Please, what is the best way to get my front end program to access the database, given modern conditions? I know that VB6 is hardly a modern app, but it is one I understand quite well, and I despair of learning another language at this late date (I'm 78!)to do such a simple task.
It seems to me that I will have to change the data control, but I am bewildered by DAO, RDO, ADO, SQL, ODBC, etc., etc.
I feel that there must be a simple way out of this jungle, if someone would point it out! Thanks.

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

I think it might be a problem with vb6 service pack. If not sp6, this might cause the error with the access database. It seems that if you would have been using access 2000 the error refers to the aged database. It now seems that access being 2007, is the culprit again.

I would suggest you download sp6 and install that before changing the application. The other mention I found is the use of data controls and not active x objects (ADO), which should eliminate the problem.

Another thing to check is the user privileges on the access database. Does it haev admin privileges or not?

Read THIS link from MS with a link to service pack 6 as well.