Hi , I am a Newbie using SQL server and vb.net in VS2010.

I am re-writing an exisitng application which is written in an old programming language.

I have a table with invoice records waiting to be assigned an invioce number and invoice date.

I have two ways of uupdating these records , the first way is the user manually selects which records/rows to be updated for a specific customer account number. This all works fine.

I am trying to write a stored proc which goes through all un-invoiced records (i.e invoice number = blank) , it is to group records/rows by account number and assign next invoice number (which i already have astroed proc to fetch) and then when the account number changes to move onto the next batch of records for the next account.

As i said earlier i have this already in another language , i am just trying to get my head around it in an SQL stored Proc.

Any help would be most appreciated

Regards Richard

Recommended Answers

All 2 Replies

I can outline the steps that you'll want to take in a sproc, and if you have questions about each step, try Googling the tasks I outline :)

Step 1: Write a query that returns the rows where invoice number is null or blank. Use an ORDER BY statement to group them by their account number.

Step 2:
Use the results of this query in a CURSOR. This cursor should have logic in it to pull the next invoice number. If you have a sproc to do that, great!

Step 3: Close the CURSOR.

It should be that simple if you use a cursor. You should look up how those function:

http://www.mssqltips.com/tip.asp?tip=1599