First of all, hi everyone!
Im a C++ newbie and i'd like to get a good grasp of the concepts soon.

I'm currently working on this

#include <iostream>
using namespace std;

int main()

{

int i, j, lines;

cout << "This Program creates Christmas Trees." << endl;

do
	{
		cout << "Please enter a number between 1 and 30" << endl;
		cin >> lines;
	}	
	while (lines < 1 || lines > 30);

for(j = 1; j <= lines*2; j=j+2)
	{

for(i=j; i <= 80 ; i=i+2)
	{
		cout << " ";

}

for(i = 1; i <= j; i++)
	{
		cout << "*";
	}

cout << endl;
	}
system ("pause");
return 0;
}

I understand everything except for the most important parts-- the for loops.

My textbook does a really poor job explaining them, and i am confused as what the int i, j mean
and how the loops work together.

This code asks the user to input a number between 1 and 30 and it creates a perfect triangle of asterisks (or a "Tree").

My problem is that like I said, I don't understand how the tree is done, or why you need the equations in the loops.

I'd greatly appreciate if someone could help me better understand these concepts!
Thanks a lot =]

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

From the looks of it when you select the number the program prints out a tree by looping for more information on loops see http://www.cplusplus.com/doc/tutorial/control/ its halfway down the page.

as for this bit of code it is saying that from j is equal to one and j is less than the number of lines *2 add two to j- this is the control statement

hi
>>>My textbook does a really poor job explaining them, and i am confused as what the int i, j mean
and how the loops work together.

the i and j are used to to print out the spaces and the stars in a special order , i used to print the spaces
and j is used to print the stars the equations which updates i , and j are used so that the shape required get printed

Member Avatar for getack

Hello and welcome!