Hey, I was wondering what the code was to open a program using C++?
so basically writing a program that opens a program.
any help would be great :)

Recommended Answers

All 13 Replies

Since you didn't mention what compiler or OS you're using, the only suggestion I can make is the std::system function from <cstdlib>. Look that up in your standard library reference.

sorry, I'm using Visual studio express 2010 on Windows 7

sorry, I'm using Visual studio express 2010 on Windows 7

Is std::system insufficient?

god this is going to sound stupid but I'm really new to this so could you tell me how to use it in very small words?
sorry

I tried that and I couldn't find a straight answer
thought it might be best to ask someone who knew what they were doing

god this is going to sound stupid but I'm really new to this so could you tell me how to use it in very small words?
sorry

Sorry, but if you're really new to this then you won't understand how to do it. You'll need to use specific functions relating to the operating system you're using in order to open a file/program like that.

If some one else knows another way then go and prove me wrong, but I think it takes a little more knowledge to do such a task like that.

I'm also new to this and that's why I'm letting you know it's not exactly easy to understand. I can't do it but just letting you know it's not exactly "beginner" level.

ok :) thanks.
I'm just trying to write fairly simple things at the moment.
most of the code I've used is written on my bed room wall

ok :) thanks.
I'm just trying to write fairly simple things at the moment.
most of the code I've used is written on my bed room wall

Try doing easier things to get the ease and hang of it like input and outputs on to the console window.

Or small Windows API programming functions like MessageBox.

do you know where I can find the source for any of these?

I tried that and I couldn't find a straight answer