Basically, I have a degree (2:1) in Software Engineering. I've worked in public sector for 2 years now which has ended up as a junior developer role for me towards the tail end of my contract (started off as data analyst, don't ask). Luckily I've now managed to land myself a job in the private sector as a graduate developer (necessary step even though I've already done a bit of development work) which I'm due to start in 2 weeks. Obviously my career path would typically lead to senior developer. I know there's a lot to reaching a senior level, particularly experience wise, I know it's not just what you've studied on paper at all - industry experience is vital. But - would an MCAD/MCPD/MCSD be a necessary addition to my cv to help make me more eligible for the senior positions? Or is my degree and industry experience as a graduate enough? The reason I ask is because I've studied a lot of principles of the life cycle of software development throughout university but as a developer pursuing a career with C# .net I'd like to carry qualifications that carry a bit more of a specific weighting towards these technologies and the Microsoft Certified courses look genuinely interesting.

If you do think it's worthwhile, what would you recommend I enrol in? Which MC course? I understand the MCSD is more of a higher-level course and covers earlier stages of software development (requirements analysis etc.) and MCAD does not but I'm not quite sure where MCPD fits in? Are all of these courses due to become dated at any time soon?

I seriously appreciate any advice or opinions you have to offer, my apologies for the wall of text.

Dan

Recommended Answers

All 2 Replies