Hi, i want to develop an one final solution to the problem COMPUTER VIRUS. my idea is that to develop an antivirus like software.its not an anti virus but its more better than that. every anti virus softwares like avast,ca, quickhil,kaspersky..... have some drawbacks. to avoid it i want to develop on software with few updates.so, i need to know where the viruses attack or resides on computer after it was entered. i know 'c'.'VB','JAVA'.. i am a engineering student.please help me, i need ur help.

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

Well, what do you want help with? You can't just say that you want help. You'll have to maybe google up some facts about viruses to begin with. Although It sounds like you're a beginner, and I believe that antivirus software is a big project, so you should probably not start with this. But if you start a project, get some code here and ask more specialized questions.

to avoid it i want to develop on software with few updates

The updates you speak of are definitions of newly discovered viruses and occasionally software improvements. When writing reactive software, there's really no avoiding regular updates for something as constantly evolving as viruses.

If you're thinking of a strictly heuristic-based approach, that's a good start (every anti-virus suite out there uses it to some extent), but incomplete.

i need to know where the viruses attack or resides on computer after it was entered

Everywhere and everywhere, respectively.

Viruses are a large, and constantly changing area of study. They may attack:

1) Through your browser (common), but any running program that can be "hijacked", including any part of the operating system, including the services, etc., will do nicely.

2) By tricking you into downloading a trojan, which is not seen as a virus. Later, that trojan will activate, and d/l the real viral code in turn, and activate it.