Hey all y'all helpful people (:D),

My Dad talked to me about making a program that would help him. Basically you enter a screen resolution (or video resolution), then it shows you a list of other resolutions with the same ratio. Let's say you have a picture that you want to change to three times less the size: so you enter the current resolution, then it gives you a list of resolutions that will keep the width to height ratio.

I'm not sure if I should use a listbox, a bunch of labels, or really what I should use for the list of resolutions. I'm also not sure how to go about it at all.

So if I could be provided with some code for it, that would be great! Sorry if this is too general of a question, but I'm a newbie :)

~Zephyr~

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

I would imagine the first thing you would need to do is figure out what the ratio is.

Determining ratios is easy, its basically the percentage of each other. Here's an example:

Back in the days of XVGA and SVGA screen resolutions were usually close to the standard 800 x 600. This is a ratio of 4:3. What that means is, for every 4 units of measure in width, there are 3 of the same units of measure in length.

Some people might say that a ratio is a fraction...that's true, kinda. When talking about a 2 dimensional plane (length and width ONLY or only 2 objects) then it can be thought of that way. But if you had a ratio of 4:3:1 or something, that's different.

Here is how you find a 2D ratio (which is probably what you want):

using 800 x 600 as the example. First we find the absolute value of the different between the two numbers, in this case 200. We then divide each by that number:

|(800-600)| = 200
800/200 = 4
600/200 = 3

4:3 is your ratio for 800 x 600.

Here's another example:

1024 x 768:

|(1024-768)| = 256
1024/256 = 4
768/256 = 3

4:3 is the ratio again.