Hi,

I'm pretty new with c#. And i'm learning now about delegates. I understand what they are (i think...) and how to use them. But i don't understand why would I need \ want to use them in the first place ?

from what i get (which is probably wrong) - a delegate is just a reference to a method...so why not call the method directly ?

And if it's about calling a few methods in one call - why not build a "Master" method that calls all the other ones ?

In other words - i think i know the WHAT and HOW...but i still don't get the WHY...very confusing...as i'm sure they're there for a good reason which i just don't seem to understand...

any help is appreciated...

tnx in adv. guys (-!

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

When you are building something that others will use (like the Forms class in the .NET library), you don't know what methods that will be called when things like events happen. So you use delegates. Delegates help your code be more reusable.

@Momerath: Thanks for the quick reply...hmmm...not sure i fully get it though..

Do you mean like when microsoft built the .NET library, they didn't know what code you would want to run when (for example) a button is clicked in your application ?

...so that the ButtonOnClick method is added to the button_onclick_event_handler behind the scenes by the .NET lib automatically ?

or am I still not getting it ..?

You are getting it. Events are a special type of delegate, and if you look at the generated code for your WinForms application you'll see things that look like this:

this.button1.FontChanged += new System.EventHandler(this.button1_FontChanged);
this.button1.KeyUp += new System.Windows.Forms.KeyEventHandler(this.button1_KeyUp);