I have written this code using templates which works very perfectly well. I am a beginner in using templates, so I really want someone to check if its written in a correct format. Because when I am deleting template<elemType> from the beginning of each function and main, the code is still working perfectly. So is it fine or is there something wrong? Please let me know since I have an exam related to it on Saturday.
Many Thanks

#include<iostream>
#include<string>
#include<conio.h>

using namespace std;

template<class elemType>
class revElement
{
public:
	void reverseInt();
	void reverseString();
};

template<class elemType>
void revElement::reverseInt()
{
	vector<int>intList;
	vector<int>::iterator i;

intList.push_back(1);
	intList.push_back(2);
	intList.push_back(3);
	intList.push_back(4);
	intList.push_back(5);

reverse(intList.begin(),intList.end());

cout<<"The reversed integers are: "<<endl;

for(i=intList.begin();i!=intList.end();++i)
	{
		cout<<" "<<*i;
	}
}

template<class elemType>
void revElement::reverseString()
{
	vector<string>stringList;
	vector<string>::iterator s;

stringList.push_back("This");
	stringList.push_back("is");
	stringList.push_back("my");
	stringList.push_back("C++");
	stringList.push_back("Lab");

reverse(stringList.begin(),stringList.end());

cout<<"The reversed strings are: "<<endl;

for(s=stringList.begin();s!=stringList.end();++s)
	{
		cout<<" "<<*s;
	}
}

template<class elemType>
int main()
{
	revElement r;
	r.reverseInt();
	cout<<endl;
	cout<<endl;
	r.reverseString();
	getch();
	return 0;
}

Recommended Answers

All 16 Replies

well, what you've written is a pure C++ class, without using templates. Unless you use the template type inside declaration/definition of the class it's not a template class.
In your case you're not using the tyep elemType anywhere. So it has no effect.

It's like an idiot wearing the wise-guys' blazer and calling himself wise. ;)

So should it be like this:

temp<class elemType>