Hola.
so, im making a simple program right now to work on my java skillz, and just for fun in general (im pretty new to java).
so, i was wondering, whats the fastest way to find the maximum number in an array of STRINGS. because i tried parsing the ints in a for loop like so...

for(int f = 0; f == 20; f++){
  intarray[f] = Integer.parseInt(stringarray[f]);
}

but when i tried to print all of the ints in the intarray, they all came out as zeros.
if you have another way of doing this, please tell me!
Thanks,
Quinnifir

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

you don't use the for loop like that. the condition must be f<20. it works like a while. The while is the opposite of an if. That's why you're getting zeros, your int array has never been initialized.

string array = Random number();

for(string number : array)
{

if( number < some high number)
{
display number
}
}
commented: Your code has no sense. -1
commented: this piece of code, containing at least 5 errors against Java and it's syntax, makes me believe you should ask questions, instead of trying to answer them. -2

Do you have a class named string?
Or do you mean the java class: String
I guess you intended to use pseudo code, but without explanations on what it is doing,
it looks confusing to me.

Do you not use indentations when writing code?
Unintended code is hard to read. Especially with nesting with multiple }s

string array = Random number();

what the hell is this supposed to mean? not taking NormR1's answer into account:

do you know what

for ( [B]S[/B]tring number: array)

does? can you figure out where you messed up there?
if the OP just followed teo236's first answer, he could have gotten a lot further with his task. your answer would just set him back.

waauw you guys are killing me here, maybe i didn't understand the question very wel,
i tought quinnifir was asking for a way to read all the elements in his array.

so maybe my code was a little messy so here is it the java way: