I have a piece of software, that I would like to license and protect but I am having a hard time finding the right license, and how I would go about with it.

Is there a license that allows:
- Free distribution of the executable and DLL's
- Costs money to gain hold of developers libraries(static)
- Costs money to gain hold of the source code
- Not allowed selling or distributing the source that you just bought

Sorry If I am not very clear, I am kinda new to this, and will try to answer all your questions.

Is it possible to create your own license, I was assuming not.

This would be for online distribution.

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

You can create any license you want, but conversation with an attorney would probably be a good idea. FWIW, even open source licenses, such as the GPL, Apache, BSD, and other open souce licenses can protect you and your code from misappropriation by others. In any case, if you write your own license, you can restrict how it is used or redistributed. You probably would want to have a separate license for the source code in such a situation, from how I read your post. As I said, talk with an attorney who has some knowledge of intellectual property issues.

What you are describing is just a typical commercial license, with the only difference that you are not charging a price for getting the program (i.e. freeware). But that's still a commercial license, you can charge the price you want for any of the three distributions (app, libs, or source), including zero (free). A generic freeware license should work fine for you.

A simple google search would turn up a few good example license:

The freeware license used by Adobe for their "Acrobat Reader" application which is distributed for free (to read pdf files) but the libraries and sources are protected by copyrights.