Hey There,

I'm a beginner when it comes to VB.net. I can do all the basic stuff, but I'm having issues with connecting to a database I've created. Ultimately, I need to feed data from a few text boxes to one table within the database, but I can't even get the connection open.

For Public Class Log, I have the following:

Public Class Log

Dim con As New OleDb.OleDbConnection
    Dim conStr As String

I have the following code connected to a button click.

Try

con = New OleDb.OleDbConnection
            con.ConnectionString = "Provider = Microsoft.Jet.OleDB.4.0;" +
                "Data Source =c:\Users\God\QualityLog.accdb"

con.Open()
            MsgBox("Connection Open")

con.Close()
            MsgBox("Connection Closed")

Catch ex As Exception
            MsgBox(ex.Message)

End Try

From this, I get unreconized database format from this.

Right now, I just need to make sure im correctly opening the connection and then I'll worry about exporting the data from text boxes to the table in access. Any help is greatly appreciated!

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

If you use miscrosoft access 2000 or 2003 you code below:

con.ConnectionString = "Provider = Microsoft.Jet.OleDB.4.0;" +
"Data Source =c:\Users\God\QualityLog.accdb"

but if you use microsoft access 2007 or 2010 you should change provider to:

con = new OleDb.OleDbConnection
con.ConnectionString = "Provider = Microsoft.Jet.ACE.12.0;" + "Data Source = C:\Users\God\QualityLog.accdb"

Please feel free if it can help you.

+1 to kimlong.khov's post, I had same issue and it sorted it out for me.
All you need to do then to input into it is create a command and input SQL into that along with connection.
E.g.
Dim SQL as String
SQL = "INSERT INTO table1 ('" & tbText1.text & "', '" & tbText2.text & "')"
Cmd = New OleDb.OleDbCommand(SQL, con)

Hope this helps
Will

I have Windows 8, MS Access 2010, and Visual Studio 2010.