hello all
i m new to this topic, though I have some experience of using VB to control excel.
I have an access database which has some records. The columns(fields) are first name, lastname, year of birth, city, county, district, state, tel ph number and email id.
Now I want to write a vb code through which the user will search for a person's year of birth(there r multiple people with same year of birth). after this the form shud display the the name of the district in which those persons having the searched year of birth, live. from the list the user wud select the district he wants and the counties within that district shud be displayed. and after selecting a particular county.. the cities within that county shud be displayed.and finally when the user select any of those cities, the email id and the ph number of the matching person(s) shud be displayed.

Comatose.. I have gone thru the link u have given, but cudnt make out much from that. I m really new to this, and any help wud be much appreciated.
thanks.
shefali.

Recommended Answers

All 18 Replies

Do you already have code for this (naturally, not all of it, or you wouldn't be asking) but my question is... have you started the project?

The layout of how I would go about it, is I would make a query for the birth year, and then retrieve all the information about each record for that birth year.....so, if they search by 1979, the database would return a list of records for 1979. Then I would store all the information in arrays for every record in 79, and sift through it in the vb code..... let me know where you are with this, and where I can help.

thanks for ur reply comatose. actually i havent yet started the project. i am looking around to get some help to get myself started. i m not very sure how do i link access 2003 and vb6.. i mean do i use ado or shud i use the something similar to what is done to link vb and excel.
so once this gets clear to me maybe then i can start with the project.