I am very new at programming in Java. Could somebody help me out with programming a Tic Tac Toe game?
I would love to have to have the code for a game that can be played against the CPU.
The assignment is to write the tic tac toe game using arrays.
Thanks in advance.

Recommended Answers

All 26 Replies

If this is your assignment then nobody here will help you cheat by giving you code.
But if you are willing to learn and to make some effort then we will be very happy to help you.
So...
Try to do it yourself. If/when you get stuck come back here, show what you have done so far, explain what’s stopping you, and someone will help.

There is a big difference between

Could somebody help me out with programming a Tic Tac Toe game?

and

I would love to have to have the code

The first is "I'm stuck here" and the second is "I don't want to bother to learn anything. Please do it for me." At least you admit that it is for an assignment.

Sure. There's plenty of examples ready to go.

I'll look at http://rosettacode.org/wiki/Category:Programming_Tasks and find Tic-Tac-Toe is currently up to 49 languges for TTT.

I really want to know if you tried to find this code if that was your intent. With today's search engines and ready for the taking sites like RosettaCode, I am asking "How could you not find this code?"

As to your assignment, maybe you need to go over what your class has covered so far. The assignments build on what you were taught up to this point.

Thanks, rproffitt, but those are all a little too advanced for the class I'm taking. My class hasn't even gotten to stuff on that scale yet.

when you get stuck come back here, show what you have done so far, explain what’s stopping you, and someone will help.

Sure, James. I was able to get this done, but I have no Idea where to start with programming the CPU's turns.