Hi ,
Anyone help me out with a clarification.
Can a 'C++ multithreaded program' be used with inline::c++ module in perl?
Want to be sure whether multithreading can be done when using inline.
thanks in advance
karthika.

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

perl can start new threads (in a unix environment) and so can C++ (in any modern environment)

you could write a perl program with multiple threads that launched a c++ program with multiple threads, each thread could launch another perl program (or connect back to the same process) and within 5 seconds you'd have a right big knot of threads.

with regard to "how" or "can" it be done; providing your c++ program can be executed, take parameters, do its threaded business, and then (optionally) return to perl, you'll be fine. I have no experience with the inline module, but important considerations are:

-whether or not a call from perl to a c++ program is syncronous or asyncronous, if it's asyncronous, then the perl program will run the c++ program, then exit or continue whatever it was doing. (this is always an issue in any threaded/spawning system, particularly if the system is implemented in a language/environment not designed with threading specifically in mind. INFACT it's more of a consideration when creators of the environment decide that developers don't need control of threading, and that it'd be 'helpful' to manage such things automatically o_O) the reason i say that, is because it's highly possible that perl's spawning of a c++ program creates a new thread for that process. in that case, you'll need to be able to call a routine in an active perl process (or call a new perl process) from c++; if you want to tell perl that the C++ program has finished. Of course, that may not be a problem, depends if calls aren't syncronous, and depends what you want to do...

which leads nicely to...