Hello,

I am new to perl, and am using perl on windows 98, i have tried writting a program, but the problem i experiencing is how to run the program.

1 i am using active perl 5 which came with an installer
2.i use note pad for the program and saved with the extension .pl

What do i do to run this program. Please help.

Recommended Answers

All 18 Replies

You could post the code, if it's a program with the code. One thing that I like to do is use a dos prompt and try to run the file.... you MIGHT have to load the perl Executable and pass the file as a parameter, something like:

c:\perl\bin\perl.exe myfile.pl

I have it running on my XP box, and I can just double click it, or type the name of the .pl file, as if it were an exe, com or bat. However, the first line of the perl file should be the path to your perl.exe... so:

#!c:\perl\bin\perl.exe

It might be different on your system, I'm not sure, but if none of those solutions work, post your code, and we'll check it out.

c:\perl\bin\perl.exe myfile.pl

where do i write that, on the run command of windows or the ppm of perl. On the ppm command, it does not recognize it while it says "file not found on the run command of windows".

c:\perl\bin\perl.exe is where mine is.

Actually, when i wrote the program in notepad, i save it on my desktop. It has the perl icon, but the problem is, when i double-click the icon for the program, the perl DOS screen pops-up with the output and disappears within a second such that you cannot see the output.
Any suggestions please.

001 :confused: