Hi everyone, I'm new here and this is my first post. Like the title says - I'm new to the whole coding and programming thing, I really LOVE the thought and the idea, I've started out with XHTML and CSS, it's going easy so far and I think I have a working mastery of the XHTML and I'm working on CSS. I really so badly want to start C and/or C++. Anyone aware of ways in which I can go about beginning, and which should I start out with bearing in mind I am doing this on my own, Any suggestions?

And thanks, I'm looking forward to really having fun while learning here!

Recommended Answers

All 35 Replies

Hi everyone, I'm new here and this is my first post. Like the title says - I'm new to the whole coding and programming thing, I really LOVE the thought and the idea, I've started out with XHTML and CSS, it's going easy so far and I think I have a working mastery of the XHTML and I'm working on CSS. I really so badly want to start C and/or C++. Anyone aware of ways in which I can go about beginning, and which should I start out with bearing in mind I am doing this on my own, Any suggestions?

Welcome! To be honest.....if this is going to be your first TRUE programming language (HTML and web-dev aside), I might start with Visual Basic or C#. This is just a personal recommendation but I think jumping straight into C or C++ might be a mistake. I learned VB6 first, followed by Java and THEN C. I feel that if I hadn't taken Java first I would not have truely understood and appreciated the power (and insecurity) of a programming language such as C. Starting with C might get you into problems in other languages as it is a weak-typed language (you'll learn what that means if you don't already know). Many people have started with C and/or C++ i'm sure and may have different views on this one but I, personally, would start with a more strong-typed language first (such as the previously stated C#, VB, or perhaps JAVA).

In terms of compilers....

Java - Free from Sun Microsystems